10 Champions League Final Stats You Probably Haven´t Read Anywhere Else


How often have Champions League finals featured clubs from the same nation? How often has a club lost the Champions League final in consecutive seasons? Today on the blog Barrie returns to deliver 10 stats for the Champions League final that you probably haven't read anywhere else.



Neither side will have any players suspended for the final. Compared to last season's final in which 7 players were suspended. Bayern Munich were missing David Alaba, Holger Badstuber and Luiz Gustavo through suspension last May. Holger Badstuber is set to miss this season's final through injury.

In the second leg of their semi-final with Barcelona last month, Jupp Heynckes substituted Bastian Schweinsteiger, Javi Martínez and Philipp Lahm – three players who were a booking away from missing the final.


The 2013 Champions League final will see German clubs go head-to-head for the first time in Europe's elite prize. Only three times have countries from the same nation battled it out in the final. In 2000, La Liga's Real Madrid beat Valencia in the final, in 2003, Milan defeated Juventus on penalties and in 2008, Manchester United beat Chelsea on penalties in the all-Premier League final.

The 1997-98 Champions League was the first tournament that saw runners-up enter. Although in previous tournaments, the league winners and defending European Cup/Champions League holders were allowed to enter in the same campaign.


Juventus (1997 & 1998) and Valencia (2000 & 2001) are the only clubs in the history of the tournament to have finished runners-up in back-to-back seasons. Bayern Munich will be added to the list if Borussia Dortmund lift the trophy on 25 May.


Bayern Munich, Benfica and Juventus have all finished runners-up of the Champions League on five separate occasions. The German side have lost the final on three occasions during the modern era, and were losing finalists twice in the 80s. Borussia Dortmund won their one and only appearance back in 1997.


Wembley Stadium is playing host to the final for a record seventh occasion (counting the old and new Wembley Stadiums as one as it was renovated on the same spot). 25 stadiums in all have hosted the final and last season saw Munich become the first city to host finals in two different stadiums, being held at the Allianz Arena for the first time, following the Olympic Stadium as a previous host on three occasions.

Next season Lisbon will join Munich on that list as the Stadium of Light joined the National Stadium for hosting a final in the Portuguese capital.


Bayern Munich's 7-0 aggregate thrashing of Barcelona in the semi-finals was the biggest margin of victory at that stage during the Champions League era. Only Eintracht Frankfurt's 12-4 thrashing of Glasgow Rangers during the 1959-60 campaign has seen a greater margin in the history of the tournament.


The loser of the 2012-13 Champions League will see a German team lose the final for a 10th time. Only Italy (14) has produced more runners-up. Along with Bayern's five, Eintracht Frankfurt (1960), Borussia Mönchengladbach (1977), Hamburg (1980) and Bayer Leverkusen (2002) have all lost in the final. Spain has had 9 runners-up and England 7.


Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund have played each other 100 times in the past. 88 of these meetings have been in the German Bundesliga, 5 in the German Cup, 3 in the German Super Cup, 2 in the German League Cup and 2 in the Champions League.

Bayern Munich lead the series 44W 30D 26L. The only previous Champions League meeting between these two came in the quarter-finals of the 1997-98 season when Stéphane Chapuisat scored the only goal in extra time at the Westfalenstadion after both legs ended 0-0 after 90 minutes.


Bayern Munich have gone 364 minutes without conceding a goal in the Champions League leading up to the final. Jupp Heynckes' side beat Juventus 4-0 on aggregate and followed that up with a 7-0 win over Barcelona. Arsenal's Laurent Koscielny was the last player to beat Manuel Neuer in this tournament – that was in the round of 16.


The last time a German club won a major European trophy was Bayern Munich way back in 2001 when they won the Champions League, beating Valencia on penalties in the final.

The match ended 1-1 after extra time, with Gaizka Mendieta and Stefan Effenberg scoring penalties inside 5 minutes of each half. Owen Hargreaves had played the full two hours but did not take any of Bayern's 7 penalties. Valencia's Mauricio Pellegrino (former Liverpool player and coach) missed the crucial spot kick.



Looking for stats for this year's Champions League final between Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund? Then visit the Champions League final bettingexpert Clash page.



Follow Barrie on Twitter: @BarriesView

And read more of his work at BarriesView.com

Premier League blogger, statistician and fan.